Mentors, Mentees and Retreat OOH MY!

One of the most unique things about the Leaders Advancement Scholarship is being able to have a mentor there for you, as well as your cohort, as you transition into college life. One way for you to develop that relationship and get to know every one in your cohort more is at the Mentor Mentee Retreat at Eagle Village. In my case, the day when the retreat started just happened to be the same day as a football game where I had to march for band, but that didn’t stop me from going! As soon as the game was done we worked our way up there so we could be there for the last day of activities.

My mentor, Taylor Brown has been a huge help in my first year here at CMU. The fact that we have so much in common, according to goals as to where we’re going in life with our careers, and random things in general just makes her the absolute best mentor. Once I arrived at Eagle Village everyone was surrounding a camp fire after a long day of activities. The campfire talk was prime bonding time where everyone opened up and shared tips, stories, friendships made, or just information about college in general.

*click images*

The next day was a day filled with challenge. In order to take a relationship/friendship further you have to instill a level of trust with in one another. This obstacle was going to be on a high ropes course. Being a natural dare devil at heart, I have completed ropes course before as well as my mentor so we decided to take it a step further to implement a challenge on ourselves. We went on the course BLINDFOLDED!!

image

The struggle in my face from taking this course the hard way through!

It was a challenge we were willing and ready to take. Being blindfolded created a level of vulnerability that you had to overcome. Having Taylor there through this task made it a whole lot easier. We were basically each others set of eyes as we went across the obstacle. For the most part everything wasn’t too bad and the course was pretty easy! But then came the jump! The jump at the end didn’t seem like it would be the worst part, but if Taylor wouldn’t have been there to give me support and everyone else there saying it was okay it would have taken me forever to jump! At the end I feel like the mentor mentor retreat is great and they should keep it going on forever! Even though I didn’t get to spend the full fledge time with every one, I was still able to create those bonds everyone says comes out of this! I love my class and I love LAS!

mentor5.jpg

My LAS family tree!

Watch this * video here* to see what the fun is all about!

Leave a Reply

